home > the mint

History of The Mint


The Mint neighbourhood was part of the City of St. Boniface when it combined with surrounding municipalities to become the City of Winnipeg which came into legal existence on January 1, 1972.

This neighbourhood is comprised totally of the Royal Canadian Mint Building, 520 Lagimodière Boulevard, and its landscaped grounds. One of two production facilities in Canada, the Winnipeg Mint Building was officially opened in April of 1976 after over a decade of sometimes vitriolic debate over which Canadian city would get Canada's second mint. It was designed by internationally-renowned local architect Étienne Gaboury who was also responsible for Precious Blood Church, 200 Kenny Street (1969), the new St. Boniface Cathedral, 190 de la Cathedrale Avenue (1972) and Esplanade Riel Pedestrian Bridge, The Forks/Provencher Boulevard (2003).