home > crescentwood

History of Crescentwood

Heritage Buildings
Heritage Resources

Crescentwood was part of the City of Winnipeg when it amalgamated with the surrounding municipalities to form the City of Winnipeg which came into legal existence on January 1, 1972. One of Winnipeg’s most exclusive and well known residential neighbourhoods, the Crescentwood area was annexed by the City of Winnipeg in 1882. While large homes began to dot the district east of Crescentwood in the early 1880s, it was not until 1889, when John Henry Munson built a large home on his property, that Crescentwood began its serious development. The Munson home at 475 Wellington Crescent was ultimately occupied by the Richardson family and demolished in 1980. So central and well-known was this house that, when the C.H. Enderton Company began the major development of the district after the turn-of-the-century, it sought Munson's permission to name the whole area after his home, Crescentwood.[1] Subsequent construction added many palatial houses occupied by some of the city's most influential businessmen, politicians and families. The structures were architecturally diverse, offered a wide range of styles and ornamental treatment, and were nestled amongst large trees and heavily landscaped lawns.

[1]Manitoba Historical Society, Crescentwood-Winnipeg's Finest Community. A Walking Tour (Winnipeg-n.d.), n.p.